San Damon

San Damon, born in Paris in 1972, creates the oniroscopism in the middle of the years 2000. Oniroscopism (oniros - dream and scopos - the one who observes the movement) or his grammar of the tones and the hues that work together with an architecture of the oddly unusual light.

The characters take a bronze-coloured aspect, vegetation is dreamlike, the objects take an unexpected symbolism. We feel like we are floating in another dimension, the third, the fourth, the eighth, we don't really know anymore, a euphoria joins the confusion.

His work is argentic, it so allows depths of field and enlargements which are out of common, there are also the baths that the artist following his inspiration of the monument underexposes or overexposes.


When Jesus became the Christ (the crucifixion)

He is there, it's our time, and San Damon does not skimp on the allegory, powerful.

The work represents Jesus surrounded by an adapted vegetation, sort of a Garden of Eden, the Christ's face expression and his look are resolute but gentle at the same time. We feel like following him, we understand the forgiveness and what Catholicism is built on.

It's one of the very few crucifixions represented horizontally, which gives it a phenomenal impact, an amazing spirituality and an almost intimate proximity, as well as its artistic production that owes all to the treatment the artist sets up.

Ontdek onze prachtige wandel- en fietsroutes
met als vertrekpunt de Basiliek van Koekelberg!

Worth seeing

The Black Sister Museum

Modern Religious Art Museum

Panorama

Did you know:

That there are several rooms under the basilica you can use?

That there are several expositions organised in the Basilica?

San Damon

San Damon, né à Paris en 1972, crée l'oniroscopisme au milieu des années 2000. L'oniroscopisme (oniros - rêve et scopos - celui qui observe le mouvement) ou sa grammaire des tons et des nuances qui se conjuguent avec une architecture de la lumière singulièrement insolite.

Les personnages prennent un aspect de bronze, la végétation est onirique, les objets prennent une symbolique inattendue. On ressent l'impression de flotter dans une autre dimension, la trois, la quatre, la huit, on ne sait plus trop, une euphorie se joint au trouble.

Son oeuvre est argentique, elle permet donc les profondeurs de champ et les agrandissements hors norme, ainsi que les bains que l'artiste, au gré de son inspiration, surexpose ou sous-expose.


Quand Jésus devint le Christ (la crucifixion)

Il est là, c'est notre époque, et San Damon ne lésine pas sur l'allégorie, puissante.

L'oeuvre représente Jésus entourée d'une végétation transposée, comme une sorte de jardin d'Eden, l'expression du visage et le regard du Christ sont déterminés mais doux à la fois. On a envie de le suivre, on comprend le pardon et ce sur quoi est bâti le catholicisme.

Elle est l'une des rares Crucifixions à être représentées à l'horizontale, ce qui lui donne un impact phénoménal, une spiritualité inouïe et une proximité quasi intime, ainsi que pour sa mise en scène qui doit tout au traitement que l'artiste instaure.

Ontdek onze prachtige wandel- en fietsroutes
met als vertrekpunt de Basiliek van Koekelberg!

A voir...

Musée des Soeurs Noires

Musée d'Art Religieux Moderne

Panorama

Saviez-vous:

Qu'il y a plusieurs expositions dans la basilique?

Qu'il y a plusieurs salles sous la basilique que vous pouvez utiliser contre une rémunération?